Delaware State Senate Republican Caucus Chooses New Leadership

Senator Hocker again selected as Minority Leader, Senator Pettyjohn Minority Whip


Following its first post-election meeting, members of the Senate Republican Caucus selected its new leadership heading into the 151st General Assembly. Senators Gerald Hocker and Brian Pettyjohn were named Minority Leader and Minority Whip, respectively, by unanimous votes.

“It’s an honor to serve the great people of the 20th District and to lead this caucus into the 151st General Assembly,” Senator Hocker stated. “I look forward to continuing to advocate for responsible government, good schools, and well-paying jobs for all Delaware citizens.”

Senator Hocker will be entering his second General Assembly as the caucus’s leader. Meanwhile, Senator Pettyjohn will assume the role of Whip.

“I am excited to build upon the relationships established by the Republican Whips before me,” said Senator Pettyjohn. “The COVID-19 lockdowns have left Delawareans struggling. It is time to tackle this and other important issues that lie before us, and I am ready to do so in this new role. I want to be sure that all voices are heard and discussed throughout our legislative process.”

The 151st General Assembly is slated to first convene on January 12, 2021.

Senator Gerald Hocker and Senator Brian Pettyjohn serve the 20th and 19th Senate Districts, respectively.