Delaware Tech recognizes outstanding students Georgetown


In early May Delaware Technical & Community College, Owens Campus held its 30th annual Student Awards Program.
An Outstanding Student Award is presented each year to one student from each associate degree or diploma curriculum.
The selections for these awards are based on academic excellence, relationships with peers and staff, and other campus/community service contributions.
During her congratulations to the students, Dr. Ileana M. Smith, vice president and Owens Campus director, noted that “… the faculty bestows this honor with a great deal of pride and respect.”
Other presentations during the program were the Andre Higgins Alumni Graduation Award, given to a graduating student who has distinguished him/herself while pursuing an academic career; the Bernard Luterancik Engineering Award, given to an outstanding student in the architectural engineering technology; and special recognition of students in the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and Alpha Beta Gamma Honor Society student, and two members of the 2010 All-Delaware Academic Team.
The recipients of the 2010 Outstanding Student Awards are:
Business, Accounting—Jeffery Hicklin, Seaford
Business, General—Alyssa Koppenhaver, Houston
Business, Marketing—Natalia Kazakova, Rehoboth Beach
Business, Management—Matthew Esterson, Blades
Business, Management Information—John Maroulis, Ocean View
Computer Information Systems — Matthew M. Sharp, Harrington
Computer Information Systems, Microcomputers & Networking—Anthony V. Jankowski, Rehoboth Beach
Computer Information Systems, Web Information Systems—Enos H. Benbow, Georgetown
Entrepreneurship — T. Chad Miller, Laurel

Office Administration — Karren Ryan, Milford
Office Administration, Office Software Specialist—Lyn Williams, Bridgeville
Office Administration, Paralegal—Anna Harr, Salisbury, Md.

Applied Agriculture, Production Agriculture — Elizabeth Steward, Harrington

Architectural Engineering Technology — Konstantin Kruzhkov, Berlin, Md.

Civil Engineering Technology — Nicholas Gooch, Salisbury, Md.

Construction Management Technology — George Haines, Milton

Design Engineering Technology, Mechanical — Alden Nelson, Lewes

Environmental Water/Wastewater Technology— William Powell, Milford

Engineering Technology, Math Option — Christopher Mitchell, Millsboro

Electronics and Computer Engineering Technology — Travis Milam, Bridgeville

Biotechnology — Nathan R. Hill, Greenwood

Medical Laboratory — Nicole Starke, Frederica

Occupational Therapy Assistant — Amy West, Bridgeville

Physical Therapist Assistant — Martina O’Boyle, Frankford

Radiologic Technology — Max Day, Georgetown

Respiratory Care — Ashley Bages, Camden-Wyoming

Veterinary Technology — Rachel Holcomb, Rehoboth

Associate Degree Nursing — Lisa Wilson, Harrington


Practical Nursing — Erin M. DelFarno, Seaford

Automotive Technology – Jeffrey K. Passwaters, Millsboro

Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning Technology — Brooks J. Wainwright, Berlin, Md.

Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning Technology — Christopher D. Ryan, Harrington

Commercial Transportation — Frances Farmer, Laurel

Communications — Liudmila Chernova, Selbyville

Criminal Justice — Brett Shockley, Laurel

Human Services — Curtis Hamm, Milford

Early Childhood Education, 0-K Option — Kimberly F. Bishop, Millsboro

Early Childhood Education, Early Childhood Development — Tory Matthews, Seaford

Elementary Education — Joshua T. Dunn, Laurel

Mathematics Secondary Education — Bradley Snyder, Seaford

Middle Level Mathematics Education — Becky Peterson, Seaford

Paraeducator — Celeste Reeb, Georgetown

Special Awards
Andre Higgins Alumni Graduation Award – John Nehrbas, Lewes
Bernard Luterancik Engineering Award – Christopher Mitchell, Millsboro

Special Presentation Awards
Alpha Beta Gamma Honor Society — Susanne Betts, Georgetown
Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society – Brett Shockley, Laurel
2010 All-Delaware Academic Team – Jodie Green, Selbyville; Nathan R. Hill, Greenwood