Dr. Murray Hoy Named Fifth President of Delaware Technical Community College


Dover, DE – Delaware Technical Community College announced today that Dr. Murray “Ray” Hoy has been named the college’s fifth president. Dr. Hoy, who currently serves as president of Wor-Wic Community College in Salisbury, Maryland, will assume the position in the near future. Dr. Mark T. Brainard will serve as interim president until that time. Dr. Hoy succeeds Dr. Orlando J. George, Jr. who retired on June 30 after serving 19 years as president of the college.

The appointment was the result of a vote by Delaware Tech’s Board of Trustees at a special board meeting on July 9. The appointment concludes a search launched in March, led by a selection committee comprised of four Board members and coordinated by the Association of Community College Trustees. The committee chose Dr. Hoy from 20 candidates.

Mark Stellini, chairman of the Board of Trustees said, “Dr. Hoy has an impressive educational background; extensive experience as a community college administrator and president; and a proven track record in student success, shared governance and fundraising. As a graduate of a community college, he brings an inherent understanding of and commitment to the mission of these institutions. His breadth and depth of leadership experiences will serve him and the College well as he leads the institution in the future.”

Dr. Hoy became the second president of Wor-Wic Community College in July 2000. Prior to this position he spent twenty-four years at Chesapeake College in Maryland, where he held numerous positions including; executive vice president (chief academic and chief administrative officer), administrative vice president, dean of student development and director of admissions and registration.

Dr. Hoy holds degrees from Chesapeake College (AA), Washington College (BA), the Johns Hopkins University (M.S. in Higher Education Administration), Central Michigan University (M.A. in Business Management and Supervision), the University of Baltimore School of Law (Juris Doctorate) and Wilmington University (Doctorate in Education Leadership and Innovation). He is a member of the Maryland Bar Association and a graduate of the 1996 class of Leadership Maryland.

At the state level, he served as president of the Maryland Council of Community College Presidents, as a member of the Governor’s Workforce Investment Board (GWIB), on the State Adult Education Oversight Committee, K-16 and PreK-20 Councils and the Visionary Panel for Better Schools in Maryland as well as the Maryland Hospital Association Executive Committee.
He currently serves on numerous local boards and committees on the Lower Shore including the Peninsula Regional Medical Center Board of Trustees, as ex-officio member of the Salisbury/Wicomico Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and the Greater Salisbury Committee, as well as the Tri- County Council’s Health Council and Wicomico County Visioning Committee. He also chaired the Lower Shore Visioning Committee.

Among other recognitions he was selected Alumnus of the Year at Chesapeake College, named the 2001 Graduate of Distinction for Kent County (Maryland) Public Schools, was recipient of the 2003 Citizenship Award from the Lower Shore Tri-County Council and received the Distinguished Citizen of the Year Award from the Tri-County District Boy Scouts of America in 2010, the Chamber Award from the Salisbury Area Chamber of Commerce in 2012 and the Frank Perdue Leadership Award from the Salisbury University Perdue School of Business in 2012.

Dr. Hoy said, “I am humbled and honored to be selected as Delaware Tech’s next president. I look forward to working with the Board, the College and the community to help build on the tradition of success this institution has in serving the education and training needs of the citizens and businesses of Delaware.”

Dr. Hoy currently lives in Salisbury with his wife, Donna. They have three grown children and four grandchildren. He will be relocating to Delaware in the near future.