Level 2 driving restrictions will be in place in Sussex County starting at 6:00 p.m.; then in Kent County starting from 8:00 p.m.; and in New Castle County starting from 10:00 p.m. This means that non-emergency travel will be prohibited. Those who are evacuating from flooding or floodprone areas, including to shelters, are exempt.

According to state law, “A ‘Level 2 Driving Restriction’ shall mean that no person shall operate a motor vehicle on Delaware roadways when a Level 2 Driving Restriction has been activated, except for persons designated as essential personnel including operators of snow removal equipment employed or contracted by a public or private entity. ‘Essential personnel’ for purposes of this subsection shall mean those employees and/or personnel who are necessary to maintain the core functions of a government body or entity, and to maintain the health and safety of the people in Delaware by providing services provided by public utilities as defined in 26 Del. C. section 102(2) healthcare services, and food and fuel deliveries during a state of emergency, regardless of whether they are employed by a public or private entity.”

The details of the driving restrictions are in the attached document – the “Second Modification of Declaration of State of Emergency.”