La Red Health Center’s Board member receives 2008 Governor’s Outstanding Volunteer Award

Allen "Butch" Briggs, Board President has worked with the Health Center since 2003


Dover – “Volunteers donate millions of hours of service each year in the state of Delaware and provide vital services to many of our residents,” said Governor Ruth Ann Minner during the 26th annual Governor’s Outstanding Volunteer Awards ceremony, held at Dover Downs Hotel on October 23.

Allen Briggs received a recognition award for his volunteer work at La Red Health Center in Georgetown. Since joining the Board of Directors of La Red in 2003, Briggs has been a tireless advocate for accesible health care for those in Sussex County and beyond.

Individual Award Winners:

Arts and Culture – Reuben Salters

Community Service – Grace W. Arles, Donald Hobson, Stewart M. Krug & Michelle Wise

Education – Karen J. Kinsella, Denise M. Boyles & Marta White

Environment – Lois Davis & Noel Milligan

Health – Allen Briggs, Molly A. Cohen & Brian DiSabatino

Human Needs – Dave Brunel, Pat Guidash & Mary Ann Slinkman

Group Award Winners:

Arts and Culture – Friends of Auburn Heights

Community Service – Park View Bulk Mailing Group, The Merrimakers’ Clown Ministry & The Next Generation of the Delaware Community Foundation

Education – PAWS for Reading

Environment – Save Our Lakes Alliance 3

Health – Pastoral Care Volunteers & Surgical Waiting Room Volunteers

Human Needs – Delaware National Guard

Public Safety – Threshold Teachers

Corporate Award Winner:

Community Service – Team Bank of America

Delaware Association of Volunteers Administrators Excellence Award Winner:

Linda Rogers