SBA announces 2012 Small Business Award winners


Wilmington, DE – Fourteen people will receive awards from the U.S. Small Business Administration’s Delaware District Office, at the Small Business Awards Dinner in Newark on Monday, May 14.

Each year the President of the United States designates one week as National Small Business Week in recognition of the small business community’s contribution to the American economy. The 2012 observance of National Small Business Week is May 20-22 in Washington, D.C. where more than 100 outstanding small business owners from around the country will be honored and the National Small Business Person of the Year will be announced.

The Delaware District Office’s Small Business Week event, to be held at The Executive Banquet and Conference Center at 205 Executive Drive, Newark, Delaware on Monday, May 14th, will honor Delaware’s Small Business Persons of the Year along with seven other business and business champion award winners. Additionally, seven lenders will be recognized for their support of small businesses in Delaware by making loans for business startup and expansion. Nominations for all of the awards were accepted last fall, and winners were selected by an independent panel of judges.

2012 SBA Delaware Small Business Week Award Honorees

Small Business Person of the Year
Eli Valenzuela, Cher Valenzuela, Ashley Wolfe
First State Manufacturing, Inc
Milford, DE

Family-Owned Business of the Year
Thomas Smith, Matthew Smith, and Charles Smith
T. S. Smith & Sons, Inc
Bridgeville, DE

Entrepreneurial Success Award
Marty Miller
Miller Metals
Bridgeville, DE

Veteran Small Business Champion of the Year
Nick Callazzo
Resource Specialists
Townsend, DE

Women Business Champion of the Year
Marie Mayor, Sharon Harris, Mary Ann Etu
Lavender Fields at Warrington Manor, LLC
Milton, DE

Financial Services Champion of the Year
George Mills
M&T Bank
Wilmington, DE

Minority Small Business Champion of the Year
Lille Crawford
Delaware Center for Enterprise Development
Dover, DE

SBA Outstanding Advocacy of Small Business Award
Dr. Shelton Rhodes
Delaware State University
Dover, DE

SBA Lender Awards (FY11)

Top SBA 7(a) Lender – M&T Bank: 31 loans

Second SBA 7(a) Lender – Citizens Bank: 20 loans

Top SBA 7(a) Lender – Republic First Bank. Dollar volume: $3.1 Million

Second SBA 7(a) Lender – Wells Fargo Bank. Dollar volume: $2.9 Million

Top SBA Certified Development Company – 504 Loans

Delaware Community Development Corp – 9 Loans $6.1 Million

Top SBA 3rd Party Lender – 504 Loans M&T Bank – 4 Loans / $6.0 Million

Second 3rd Party Lender – 504 Loans Fulton Bank – 3 Loans / $5.3 Million

“The individuals we are honoring on May 14th represent the finest traits of American entrepreneurial spirit and we are proud to recognize their accomplishments,” said Mike Wilk, acting district director of SBA’s Delaware District Office, congratulating all of the award winners.

For additional information on National Small Business Week festivities, and for a list of winners, visit